Update: New Chapter, New Worries

Hey guys. It took a long time, but I finally got a new chapter up, despite all that’s been going on. Hooray for me! The formatting’s still a little fucked up, but I promise I’ll fix that as soon as I’m able.

Unfortunately, I had my post-surgery follow-up appointment recently, and that’s about the only hooray I’ll be getting. While there’s no immediate danger, it’s my surgeon’s professional opinion that my thymus needs to be removed in order to prevent any long-term health issues it might cause. The way he explained it to me, even if it doesn’t keep growing and restricting my breathing (which they have no way of knowing but doesn’t seem very likely), it’s putting unnecessary pressure on my trachea and the other organs in my thoracic cavity. To use the exact phrase he did, “it’s not a matter of if, but when”.

So that means that I’m going to need another surgery. Only this time it’s nothing as cute as a few small incisions. Because of the position of the thymus, I’ll be requiring a partial median sternotomy, which some of you might recognize as the preliminary step in open-heart surgery. For those not in the know, having a median sternotomy basically means they’re gonna make an incision along my sternum and then crack it open with a tiny electric buzzsaw. After that they’ll remove my thymus (still nicknamed “Quatto”) and then close the gap in my sternum back up with metal wires. From what videos I’ve seen a tiny crowbar is also involved at some point in the procedure, and overall, this one looks like it’s going to be a serious bitch once the general anesthesia wears off.

And therein lies the second problem. Because I’m still on a 90-day probationary period after being promoted to full-time at my current job, I can’t risk taking time off for this surgery right now. My surgeon tells me I’ll be in the hospital for at least three to four days, and then on house arrest for three to four weeks while I finish healing. Working during that time won’t be at all possible, presumably because I’ll either be in great pain or stoned out of my fucking gourd on the pain-killers I’ll be taking to deal with the great pain. So in order to keep my job (or at least not risk losing it), we’ve decided to postpone this surgery for a few more months.

And on that note, I’d like to quit my bitching for a sec and make an apology. If I’m going to be 100% honest with myself and with you, there was no reason this chapter needed to take this long. Yes, being promoted to full-time and finding out I have an engorged fleshy parasite choking my windpipe were certainly distracting events, but that still shouldn’t have prevented me from putting out a chapter for the few months that it’s been. To tell the truth, I’ve just been putting off releasing anything because I planned out a prolonged legal battle at the climax of this arc, which we are rapidly approaching, and I never once stopped to consider that I know absolutely fucking nothing about how the legal system works.

Yes, to no one’s surprise, I underestimated how difficult writing something like this might be and dropped the ball when it came to time management yet again. It’s not done. It’s nowhere close to being done. And after a few conversations with someone who does know a thing or two about law, it’ll be a while before it is. But, the good news is, I have a friend who’s a lawyer that’s willing to help me plan this whole thing out so writing it won’t feel like such an insurmountable challenge.

I’ve sat down and talked with him, and I’m going to use these next couple of months before my surgery to get a headstart on writing this, which means hopefully it’ll all be ready and waiting for release by the end of the summer. I know it’s probably not what you wanted to hear, but please bear with me here. I made a mistake and I wanna fix it by giving you the best ending to this arc that I can possibly write. That’s really all I have to say. I sincerely hope you’ll accept my apology and continue following Goodfae.

Leave a Reply

